Newry and Mourne Museum

Role
Museum
Telephone
Email address
museum@newryandmourne.gov.uk
Biography/History

<p>Newry and Mourne Museum was established in 1986 and aims to provide a dynamic and inclusive recreational and educational resource reflecting the rich cultural heritage of the local area.</p>\n<p>The museum's diverse collections currently include material relating to prehistory; Newry's Cistercian foundation; Ulster's Gaelic Order and its relationship with the English Crown; the building of a merchant town and the first summit level canal in the British Isles; the working life and folk traditions of rural and mountain areas; fishing, trade and migration by sea; renowned local personalities and businesses; folklore, storytelling and music; and modern experiences of a Border area. All these aspects of local heritage are explored at through a varied programme of exhibitions, educational events and activities.</p>\nThe Museum is housed in two adjoining buildings, the first being known as Bagenal's Castle which is a fortified house built by Sir Nicholas Bagenal in the 1560s. The warehouse adjoining Bagenal's Castle on the north side was added in the early 19<sup>th</sup> century and was used by Joseph Doyle, a seed merchant. In 1894 the complex became the home of Arthur McCann Limited and functioned as a bakery until the mid 1990s.