Newry and Mourne Museum was established in 1986 and aims to provide a dynamic and inclusive recreational and educational resource reflecting the rich cultural heritage of the local area.
The museum's diverse collections currently include material relating to prehistory; Newry's Cistercian foundation; Ulster's Gaelic Order and its relationship with the English Crown; the building of a merchant town and the first summit level canal in the British Isles; the working life and folk traditions of rural and mountain areas; fishing, trade and migration by sea; renowned local personalities and businesses; folklore, storytelling and music; and modern experiences of a Border area. All these aspects of local heritage are explored at through a varied programme of exhibitions, educational events and activities.
The Museum is housed in two adjoining buildings, the first being known as Bagenal's Castle which is a fortified house built by Sir Nicholas Bagenal in the 1560s. The warehouse adjoining Bagenal's Castle on the north side was added in the early 19th century and was used by Joseph Doyle, a seed merchant. In 1894 the complex became the home of Arthur McCann Limited and functioned as a bakery until the mid 1990s.